In 1973, the existing railroad station, built in 1907, was saved from destruction by the Gorham Historical Society and now serves as the headquarters of that organization. The building, which is architecturally unique, contains displays on area history and is open to the public. Another addition to the museum is a 1911 Baldwin 0-6-0 Steam Locomotive, which was rescued from the scrap pile in 1986.
Other equipment on display includes: a 1949 F-7 B&M Diesel Locomotive, two 1929 Boxcars, a 1951 Russell Snow Plow, a 1924 Boxcar, a 1942 Caboose and the former North Stratford Boxcar. Some visit our model Railroad Boxcar and also the Boxcar with the Quinn-Crocket railroadcollection by Grand Trunk-Canadian National Historian John Davis.
The Grand Trunk Railroad opened the area to tourist trade. The line later became known as the Canadian National and still later the St. Lawrence & Atlantic Railroad. Most recently it has been acquired by the Texas and Wyoming Railroad. At first, Gorham, midway between Montreal and the Atlantic, was a major yarding and repair center, but, gradually, the significance of Gorham to the railroad diminished as did the significance of the railroads to the country.
The station is at 25 Railroad Street in Gorham across the street from the Town Hall. Railroad Street runs parallel to Main Street (U.S. Routes 2 & 16 W & N).We try to be open daily for admission by donation. Visit http://www.fra.dot.gov/Page/P0010 for more info.